Not Another New Year’s Resolution

I don’t abhor the tradition of New Year’s Resolutions the way I do Valentine’s Day, but I do find it simultaneously silly and limiting. I believe we should all be on a constant path to self improvement, and when doing so on as dynamic a trail as Life that path will consistently change. If it doesn’t, you’re missing the point. 

Every single day is New Year’s. Each day you wake up is a day you can change the course of your life. So I prefer to make goals as I see an opportunity or necessity to do so. For example, I’ve made reference to an accidental personal journey that sort of snuck up on me. As much as I was unprepared for this journey, it has presented itself as undeniaably necessary. Thus, a new goal in this new undertaking. 

Ergo, New Year’s Resolutions are just too limiting in my opinion. You tie yourself to a goal or multiple goals, life happens, things change, and you end the year feeling like you failed at something. And I don’t do failure. 

So this year, instead of New Year’s Resolutions, I am going to explore my Bucket Lists. Yes, I said lists plural. There are the great big grand experiences I hope to have before I die, and then there are those smaller things I want to do that spring up in my mind as goofy, crazy, adventursome, random, life-affirming, or whatever else that can be reasonably acheived within a more immedate future. 

I’m still working on my Terminal Bucket List or TBL as we’ll henceforth and forevermore call it (and some of it I’ll never post for public consumption!), but here’s what I have so far: 

 

1. Travel to as many countries as I can (hope to cross Italy, France, and Spain off the list this year!)

2. Take part in a sweat lodge ceremony

3. Save someone’s life

4. Improve someone’s life significantly 

5. Climb a 14er (only you Coloradoans will really know what that means)

6. Take a month of to hike/camp alone in the mountains (or just take a month off – that’s never happened either!)

7. Pay off ALL my debt and keep it that way Dave Ramsey-style!!!

8. Play with an otter (or multiple otters, either way I’m stoked)

9. Go on a cruise or other Girls Only trip with my best friends

10. Get my concealed carry license

11. Own a motorcycle (and ride it of course)

                                                      

12. See the Northern Lights

 

No, I don’t care to bungy jump or sky dive. I’m a thrill seeker, but I don’t think I actually have a death wish. And I’m TERRIFIED of falling. Not heights – Falling. There’s a difference. 

 

As for this coming year, I have some flavors of little steps to get me to the big items on the TBL as well as just some randomness that I want to be able to say I’ve done. So, the 2015 Annual Bucket List (or, you guessed it, ABL 2015):

 

1. Join Roller Derby (What should I call myself? Eve Isceration, Double D Trouble, Killer Queen, Princess Punisher, Lady Smasher, Lady Killer, SweetTease Pie, 1 Bad Lil Bitch, DD E. Viscerator, Babygirl Bruiser, Bombshell Bruiser, T Zing Terror, …help!)

And this will be the required equipment for an epic klutz such as myself.

2. Take a month of pole dancing “fitness” classes (and maybe video a show?!)

3. Solo Karaoke (I’ve only ever been brave enough to do it in groups)

4. Take motorcycle riding lessons

5. Visit my mom (I haven’t seen her in a year)

6. Take a solo road trip to…somewhere

7. Run a 5K w/ my fitness-savvy friends (the Color Run in August sounds great!!)

 

If the definition of ‘resolution’ is the “firm decision to do or NOT to do something” then I prefer to call this my New Year’s REVolutions, if you must stick me in a box. Some of these things may happen, some of them may not, but I will challenge myself with small acts of living life in the hope that I will always have good stories to tell and never have to regret being on the sidelines of life. 

Because, really at the end of the day it’s all about living. 

It’s all about finding a way to consistently…

One thought on “Not Another New Year’s Resolution

Leave a Reply

