Do I Need to Be Here for This?

My Dearest Reader, you’re probably suffering from a severe bout of insomnia or drug overdose which is why you’ve visited me here and are now being sucked into reading this inaugural self-indulgent mind-vomit of mine. And for that I thank you.

First things first: I’m not going to introduce myself. If you come back for more, you’ll get to know me, or at least my voice and likely some of my heart. I’ve been told I wear it on my sleeve despite my best efforts to convince everyone I’m a major hard ass.

That said, you’re probably wondering why I chose to title this blog “Rock, Paper, Scissors (Lizard, Spock).” And if you’re not, I’m going to tell you anyway (it might help you sleep – I live to serve). I tend to be competitive and achievement-oriented – okay…so maybe just competitive. But who doesn’t like to win? I also like it when things mean something more than what you see on the surface. So RPSLS (let’s just use the acronym to get us through this quickly, eh?) came about because I decided four things: 1) I wanted – nay, I needed – a place to conduct the mind-vomiting we talked about earlier, 2) This blog will have no theme and lots of randomness – I spend all day doing and talking about what everyone else wants me to do and talk about, so this will be where I talk about what I want to talk about and people can choose to read/enjoy or not. Ergo, it’s like Ro Sham Bo (otherwise known as Rock, Paper, Scissors) – you’re gonna get what you get out of the variety of choices at my disposal, 3) I’m not a genius by any stretch of the imagination, but I’m occasionally intellectual, and I really enjoy the Big Bang Theory (hence the “Lizard, Spock” – if you don’t get it, you need to go download Hulu and educate yourself), and 4) I’ve recently championed a multitude of critical Ro Sham Bo tournaments wherein I won a $30 Starbucks gift card (important to coffee addicts such as myself) and the first pick of a six-month professional group project. I’ll be adding this to my resumee when it’s time to update.

Over the course of my mind-vomiting – however long it lasts and however regularly I post (I have a busy mind, so I get obsessed for a while, move on, return, repeat…) – you’re going to get a variety of MV (we all get that MV = mind-vomiting, yes?). At times you might feel like I’m talking to myself – and I just might be – and that might lead you to wonder, “Do I need to be here for this?” It’s a question I commonly ask (sometimes to myself, sometimes out loud in meetings and other multi-person conversations). I can’t answer that question for you.

What I can tell you is that I plan to examine a lot of different topics in the coming weeks – the hypocrisy of Valentine’s Day, my father’s death and its affect on my faith and life paradigm, why my Blue Heeler’s forehead gets so freakin’ hot sometimes, events of the day, weird things I see people do (and likely some of the weird things I do), hope, heartbreak, zombie apocalypse, etc. – in such a way that I hope it evokes some thought from you and makes you laugh (either because I’m so hilarious or because I’m such an ignorant ass is for you to decide).

And of course I’ll link to the blogs of some of my much smarter and interesting friends. (Seriously, I do have some – I’ll hook you up.)

So welcome, friends, insomniacs, drunkards, internet trolls, and anyone else who needs (or wants…) to be here for this.

Leave a comment